Class of 1960 Scholars Program:

With funds generously provided by the Class of 1960, the BIMO Program invites prominent researchers from other institutions to campus to present a public seminar and then to meet privately in a discussion and dinner setting with a select group of students (chosen for the calendar year to be the BIMO Class of 1960 Scholars).

Upcoming Speakers


oneillrjProf. Rachel O’Neill, PhD

Professor, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
University of Connecticut

Date: November 20, 2015

Seminar Title: The Dark Matter of Genomes: Understanding the Forces and Conflicts that Drive Genome Change

My lab uses molecular genetic and cytogenetic techniques to study centromere determinance; centromere function and evolution; small RNA biogenesis; transcriptional control of chromatin modifiers; chromosome evolution; speciation and hybrid dysgenesis in several model systems, including human, mouse, marsupial, platypus (somatic cells, germ cells and embryonic stem cells). Using techniques such as in situ hybridization, microarray screening, cell assays, artificial chromosome constuction, and next-generation sequencing platforms (Illumina and 454 pyrosequencing), we are addressing the hypothesis that small RNA forms mediate centromere function.

See her website for more details concerning Prof. O’Neill’s research.


debose-boyd-russell-fisProf. Russell Debose-Boyd, PhD

Professor, Department of Medical Genetics
The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Early Career Scientist, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Date: February 12, 2016

Seminar Title: “Mechanisms controlling degradation of HMG CoA reductase, the rate-limiting enzyme in cholesterol synthesis”

Russell DeBose-Boyd studies mechanisms through which the cholesterol biosynthetic enzyme HMG-CoA reductase is subject to sterol-induced, ER-associated degradation.

See his website for more details concerning Prof. Debose-Boyd’s research.

The BIMO Class of 1960 Scholars for 2015

Megumi Asada
Sam Avila
Chris Bravo
Cecilia Castellano
Ronak Dave
Matt Davies
Dylan Freas
Garrick Gu
Intekhab Hossain
Roya Huang
Taylor Jackvony
Kimberly Kiplagat
Kiki Landers
Brian Leland
Breanna Nguyen
Luxi Qiao
Carly Schissel
Hanna Shebert
Jeff Sload
Suyee Win